Critical Reflection

Career Professional Development II had definitely been a fruitful learning journey for me. Through this module, I had gained a better insight into the art and science of communication. The concepts that were covered in the instructional units, such as Johari windows and Thomas-Kilmann conflict mode instrument, lay the foundation to build my communication skills on.

I had always found it difficult to put my thoughts in words and the blogging activity had allowed me to train on this particular aspect. It was also enjoyable to spend time reading my peers’ posts to learn more about them. Commenting on posts facilitate peer-to-peer learning as we learnt the mistakes made by each other.

As mentioned in the first blog post that I had fear of speaking in front of a large group, the impromptu presentations in class had slowly allowed me to get comfortable in presenting. Due to the short time span gave to prepare the material for presentation, it trains our speed reading skill and the ability to pick up key points correctly.

Lastly, the training video assignment gel up the whole module. It allows us to apply the concepts that we were taught in the various instructional units. By linking with the industry, the assignment was relatable for us. It also allows us to uncover communication issues that may have never come across our minds.

Although we complain about the workload, I am thankful for Brad, our module facilitator, to spend the time and effort for putting this enriching and meaningful module together for us!

One thought on “Critical Reflection

  1. Dear Hong Yi,

    Thank you for this detailed review of the CPDII module. I’m happy that you found it useful in so many ways, even though it was a bit of a pain.

    It warms my heart that you feel you gained so much from the presentation(s) you did and also that the blogging was something you felt positive about.

    I also especially appreciate your many contributions to the class during the term; and though you could not appear in the presentation showcase, it must be satisfying for you to know that you and your teammates had rightfully earned a place in that showcase.

    Now I wish you the very best as you continue your learning journey!

    Brad

    Like

Leave a Reply

